As we have stepped into the month of April the next full moon is nearing us and it will be seen in the night sky on the 7th of this month. According to the Farmer’s Almanac, the moon will be a pink moon even though the moon itself won’t be pink. But this happens during the beginning of the early spring blooms. Each full moon of the year has its own name which comes from long ago.

And also this will be a supermoon which means it will be exceptionally bright. Therefore, the scientists expect this supermoon to be the most illuminated moon for the year 2020. According to Yahoo News, this is called a supermoon due to its closeness to the Earth. This moon will be bigger and brighter when it reaches the apogee or the point closest to the Earth.

The supermoon will be visible in the sky of April 7th soon after the sunset. This will be a treat for ones who wish to see how the night sky is. This moon will remain in the night sky as a full moon for a few days in the sky due to its closeness to the planet. This will be a great opportunity for ones who live in places with open skies. You’ll get a chance to see a great view of this marvelous moon.

Reports of Earth Sky say as follows:

The moon will appear plenty full to the eye for these next few evenings. Astronomically speaking, though, the moon is said to be full at a well-defined instant: when the moon is 180 degrees opposite the sun in ecliptic longitude. This full moon instant comes on April 8, at 2:35 UTC. (at United States’ time zones, the moon turns precisely full on the evening of April 7, at 10:35 p.m. EDT, 9:35 p.m. CDT, 8:35 p.m. MDT, 7:35 p.m. PDT, 6:35 p.m Alaskan Time and 4:35 p.m. Hawaiian Time.

In other words, it says that the moon reaches its full phase when the moon-sun elongation equals 180 degrees. If you want to find out the present moon-sun elongation, click on The Moon Tonight. Remember, a positive number will depict a waxing moon while a negative number a waning moon.

This April full moon showcases the biggest and closest full moon of 2020. That’s because, in the year 2020, this April full moon is the one that most closely aligns with lunar perigee. Amazingly enough, 14 returns to the full moon almost exactly equal to 15ren returns to lunar perigee. The mean lunar month (as measured from full moon to full moon) equals 29.53059 days whereas the mean anomalistic month (as measured from perigee to perigee) equals 27.55455 days.

This pink moon will be the largest supermoon of the year which is rather marvellous when compared with the number of supermoons we have seen throughout 2020 so far. This will be a better way to spend your time at home, if you have your own telescope and a proper lense to take photographs. When reflected to myself, I’m quite curious to see this amazing and glorious sun and I will be viewing the moon from where I am.

Sources: https://www.almanac.com/content/full-moon-april
https://news.yahoo.com/super-pink-moon-coming-april-060000131.html
https://earthsky.org/?p=326827